Skip to content

Linear

When you connect a Linear workspace to Oblique, Oblique will automatically sync the workspace, its members, and its teams.

As you add people to Linear, change their role, move them between teams, remove their access, or add and delete teams, these changes are automatically synced to Oblique.

You can add multiple Linear workspaces to Oblique. These function as separate integrations and are distinguished by their workspace name.

Oblique syncs the following from your Linear workspace.

Linear objectOblique objectCapability
MembersAccountsRead-only
WorkspaceResourcesRead-only
TeamsResourcesRead-only
RolesRolesRead-only
Workspace membershipEntitlementsRead-only
Team membershipEntitlementsRead-only

Oblique syncs each Linear member as an Oblique account. Members who are guests are included. Members who are suspended, whose active is false, and connected applications and agents, whose app is true, aren’t synced.

Linear accounts are matched to Oblique users by email.

Oblique’s Linear integration is read-only. Oblique can’t make changes to your Linear workspace, its members and teams, or their roles.

Oblique syncs the following from Linear as resources:

  • The Linear workspace you connected
  • Each team in the workspace

Every account has an entitlement for the workspace.

In Linear, a team can have sub-teams. Linear requires a sub-team’s members to also be members of its parent team, except for guests, who can belong to a sub-team without belonging to its parent. Oblique doesn’t infer membership of a parent team from membership of one of its sub-teams, but instead reads the team members as reported by Linear.

Oblique syncs Linear roles as Oblique roles, for both workspace and team memberships. Certain roles may only be available on certain Linear pricing plans.

Every entitlement from Linear is for exactly one role.

The Linear integration should be connected by a Linear workspace admin or owner, and requests the following permissions for your Linear workspace:

  • Read the workspace, including its members and teams
You must be an admin to add an integration.

You connect a Linear workspace to Oblique by signing in to Linear as a workspace admin or owner and approving the access Oblique asks for.

To add a Linear integration, navigate to the Integrations page:

  1. Select Add integration.
  2. Select Linear.
  3. Select Connect Linear.
  4. Sign in to Linear as a workspace admin or owner, select the workspace to connect, and approve the access Oblique asks for.

Oblique will immediately start syncing the workspace’s members and teams.

Change Linear integration’s authorizations

Section titled “Change Linear integration’s authorizations”
You must be an admin to change an integration's authorizations.

To reconnect the Linear integration, including to change the member it is tied to, from the integration’s detail page:

  1. Navigate to the Settings tab.
  2. Under Connection, select Reconnect.
  3. Sign in as a different Linear member and approve the access Oblique asks for.

You can only reconnect the current workspace. To change the workspace, instead delete the integration and add another one.

Oblique’s Linear integration is read-only, so it can’t be used to manage your Linear workspace, its members and teams, or their roles. Make these changes in Linear directly, and Oblique will sync them automatically.

You must be an admin to remove an integration.

To remove a Linear integration, from the integration’s detail page:

  1. Navigate to the Settings tab.
  2. At the bottom of the page, under Delete integration, select Delete integration….
  3. In the confirmation dialog, type the text to confirm, then select Delete integration.

This will immediately stop all syncing and remove all resources from the integration.