Skip to content

Users

Users are the individuals who can access resources in your organization.

Users have user attributes, such as location, cost center, or department. You can use these attributes to create attribute-based groups for granting access. When a user’s attribute changes, Oblique automatically updates their membership in attribute-based groups and grants or revokes access accordingly.

Accounts synced from integrations are mapped to users. Since imported entitlements are mapped to accounts, this lets Oblique resolve which users have access to which resources, via those accounts. If an account can’t be definitively matched, you can manually link it to a user.

When multiple integrations provide the same user information (like title, manager, or profile picture), core attributes determine which source Oblique displays in user profiles.

You can’t add users to Oblique directly. Instead, add an integration that imports users from your organization.

You can’t edit users or user attributes in Oblique directly. Instead, make changes to users or user attributes in the integration that’s the source of truth for those attributes. Oblique will automatically sync and apply those changes.

You can’t edit core attributes in Oblique directly. You can change the source integration used for core attributes.

By default, Oblique uses the first integration you connect that provides each core attribute for at least one user.

You must be an admin to edit the source integration for a core attribute.

To change the source integration for a core attribute, navigate to Manage and select Core attributes.

  1. Under Core attribute sources, locate the attribute whose source you want to change.
  2. Select the current source to open a dropdown menu.
  3. Select the new source.

Users’ profiles will update with the new information.

Oblique automatically matches an account to a user by email, or by other information an integration provides, such as a GitHub account’s SAML identity. Accounts that can’t be matched are still imported, and can be manually linked to a user.

You must be an admin to link an account to a user.

To link an unlinked account to a user, from the integration’s Accounts tab, or the account’s detail page:

  1. Select Link user.
  2. Select the user to link it to. Oblique automatically suggests users who share an email, name, or similar username with the account.
  3. Select Link account.

You can export the list of users to a CSV file. This will export the current view of the users list, including any search or filter that you’ve applied. The CSV export includes each user’s name, email, job title, role, and last login time.

  1. Navigate to the People page.
  2. In the table header, select More.
  3. Select Export all users, or Export filtered users if a search or filter is active.

You can’t delete users in Oblique directly. Instead, delete the user from the integration.