OpenAI
When you connect an OpenAI organization to Oblique, Oblique will automatically sync the organization, its members, its projects, and its groups.
As you add people to OpenAI, change their roles, remove their access, or add and archive projects, these changes are automatically synced to Oblique.
You can add multiple OpenAI organizations to Oblique. Each is a separate integration, identified by its organization name.
The OpenAI integration syncs an OpenAI API Platform organization. It doesn’t sync ChatGPT workspaces, which OpenAI manages separately.
Supported options
Section titled “Supported options”Oblique syncs the following from your OpenAI organization.
| OpenAI object | Oblique object | Capability |
|---|---|---|
| Members | Accounts | Read-only |
| Organization | Resources | Read-only |
| Projects | Resources | Read-only |
| Groups | Resources | Read-only |
| Roles | Roles | Read-only |
| Organization membership | Entitlements | Read-only |
| Project membership | Entitlements | Read-only |
| Group membership | Entitlements | Read-only |
Accounts
Section titled “Accounts”Oblique syncs each OpenAI organization member as an Oblique account. Pending invitations and service accounts aren’t synced.
Oblique automatically matches OpenAI accounts to users in Oblique. OpenAI accounts are matched to Oblique users by their email (email).
Resources
Section titled “Resources”Oblique syncs the following from OpenAI as resources:
- The OpenAI organization you connected
- Each active project in the organization
- Each group in the organization
Archived projects aren’t synced.
A member or group has an entitlement for the organization, or for a project, for each role assigned to them directly. Each member of a group has an entitlement for the group.
Organization owners can access every project in OpenAI. Oblique only shows an entitlement for a project if they were also added to it.
Oblique syncs OpenAI roles as Oblique roles, for both organization and project memberships, including custom roles.
An entitlement for the organization or a project can be for one or more roles. Membership in a group has no role.
Required permissions
Section titled “Required permissions”You must be an Owner in OpenAI to connect this integration.
If you don’t have sufficient permissions, create an install link so someone who does can connect the integration without being an Oblique admin.
The OpenAI integration connects using a Read only admin API key, which only an organization owner can create. Oblique only uses the key to read your organization’s members, projects, groups, and their roles, and doesn’t read your prompts, usage, or billing.
Add OpenAI integration
Section titled “Add OpenAI integration”You connect an OpenAI organization to Oblique by creating an admin API key in OpenAI, then adding it to Oblique.
To create an admin API key, in the OpenAI API Platform:
- As an organization owner, navigate to Settings > Organization > Admin keys.
- Select Create new admin key.
- Name the key, for example
Oblique. - Under Permissions, select Read only.
- (Optional) Choose an expiration.
- Select Create admin key.
- Copy the key, which starts with
sk-admin-. OpenAI only shows the key once.
Then, to add an OpenAI integration, navigate to the Integrations page:
- Select Add integration.
- Select OpenAI.
- Under Connect, in Admin API key, paste the key you created.
- Select Add integration.
Oblique will immediately start syncing the organization’s members, projects, and groups.
Change OpenAI integration’s authorizations
Section titled “Change OpenAI integration’s authorizations”If the admin API key expires, is revoked, or needs rotating, you can replace it without removing the integration. From the integration’s detail page:
- Navigate to the Settings tab.
- Under Connection, select Replace admin API key….
- Under Admin API key, paste the new admin API key and select Replace admin API key.
You can only replace the key with another one for the same organization. To change the organization, instead delete the integration and add another one.
Manage entitlements
Section titled “Manage entitlements”Oblique’s OpenAI integration is read-only, so it can’t be used to manage your OpenAI organization, its members, projects, and groups, or their roles. Make these changes in OpenAI directly, and Oblique will sync them automatically.
Remove OpenAI integration
Section titled “Remove OpenAI integration”To remove an OpenAI integration, from the integration’s detail page:
- Navigate to the Settings tab.
- At the bottom of the page, under Delete integration, select Delete integration….
- In the confirmation dialog, type the text to confirm, then select Delete integration.
This will immediately stop all syncing and remove all resources from the integration.